What If…? (2nd Edition)

by Taylor Waresh 

_________________________ 

And we’re back, with the second edition of your favorite (hopefully) article!  After tackling the boiler room myth in the  Tower Review’s last edition of “What If?,” I know you are more interested than ever to find the answers to your most pressing questions regarding your favorite teachers. 

Well, that’s why you’re here. This time around, we interviewed several teachers (by popular demand) and asked them some very important questions. Here they are: 

__________ 

Mrs Laviola (Science Teacher): 

Q: If you could change one thing about the world, what would you change? Why? 

Mrs. Laviola in action

A: One thing that I would change would be the way I appreciate the world we live in, which includes all of the people.  I aspire to be the example of how we can live so all of the people’s needs are met in a way that every person born can have those inalienable rights we have been blessed with. 

Q: If you were a candy, what candy would you be and why? 

A: Turkish Taffy, chocolate of course, because while taffy can be bent and molded, it is extremely resistant to enviromental changes, but will eventually break under too much stress (good or bad). 

Q: If you could be anybody else in the world for a day, who would you be and what would you do? 

A: Probably a person who can influence what is put out into the media in the form of entertainment. I would increase television shows that depict humans the way we truly are, emphasizing the positiveness of our developed and evolved nature. 

__________ 

Mrs. Belford (English Teacher): 

Mrs. Belford in class

 Q: If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be and why?

A: I’d end poverty because it would solve (or greatly reduce) so many other problems.

Q: If you could be anyone else in the world for a day, who would you be and why?

A: I think it’d be pretty awesome to be Anthony Bourdain. He’s an incredible chef and he gets to travel the world and eat amazing food for a living while making snarky comments. I think I could handle that.

Q: If you could ask anyone for advice, who would it be and what would you ask?

A: That’s a really tough question.  I guess I’m supposed to say Gandhi or Jesus or someone like that, but I think I’d be too nervous to ask for advice.  Knowing me, I’d just stand around awkwardly.

__________ 

Mrs. Pierson (Physical Education and Health Teacher):

 Q: If you could speak any other language fluently, besides English, which language would you choose and why? 

Mrs. Pierson with some of her favorite health students

A:

If I could speak any other language fluently, I would choose French.  I think it is a beautiful language, very romantic and full of emotion. 

Q: If only one book existed in the entire world, what book would you like it to be and why? 

A: If only one book existed in the entire world, I would like  it to be the Bible.  I am not extremely religious however I think it establishes right from wrong, teaches us important moral values and validates our wanting to believe in something greater than ourselves. 

Q: If you could have dinner with anybody, dead or alive, who would it be? What would you talk about? 

A: If I could have dinner with anyone it would be Princess Diana.  I was glued to the tv when she got married and have been interested in her and all of her philanthropic work over the years.   I would love to talk to her about her decision to marry Prince Charles, her troubled relationship with the Royal Family and what inspired her to be a Queen of the people. 

___________________________________

Leave a Reply

