55 Word Stories

by Jillian Dinger

___________________

Monster Wanted

I used to light up her night, shielding her from uncertainty that
lurked in the corners. I was a hero, a friend, needed. As time pushed
forward I began to dim, much like her admiration and desire for me.
Unplugged, forgotten, and dusty I wait, wishing the monsters would
return.

Bittersweet

He enters the kitchen and my heart flutters, desperate to feel his
lips touch me.  “I want you so bad, but munchkin you’re just no good
for me,” he says. Heartbroken I watch him in horror, as he grasps a
grapefruit. She’s everything I’m not, but I know only I can make him
truly satisfied.

_________________________

Leave a Reply

