Zodiac Sign Change

by Alyson Raywood


For the type of person who relies heavily on his or her horoscope to determine personality traits and daily destinies, this change in zodiac signs may have seemed tragic. The understanding of whether the changes were for everyone, or just certain people, was the main problem.

Astrology is based upon the alignment of the planets

Now, for everyone who doesn’t know what zodiac signs are, they are the arrangement of the planets and stars at the given moment of a person’s birth, used and determined by astrologers. The twelve include Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Basically when a person says, “I’m a Capricorn,” they’re really saying that they were born at a time of the year when the sun was in the zodiac sign of Capricorn. These alignments of the stars were created over three thousand years ago, and have since created a society of dependent followers.

To give you a taste of what a horoscope tells you, here’s an example: for  a Capricorn, the set horoscope for that zodiac sign is, “ The sure-footed Mountain Goat can climb to higher altitudes than any other mammal. And you sure-footed Capricorns are also well-suited for climbing. Capricorn sets high goals for yourself and then you overcome whatever obstacles may appear between you and the top of your personal mountain. As Capricorn climbs the ladder of success, your ambition pushes you forward. Status can be important to Capricorn and often, at the top of your game, you gain personal satisfaction by knowing that others respect you for what you have accomplished. Capricorn can dance out on the edge of a cliff, but will never fall. Why? Stability plays an important role, but so does practice. As a typical Capricorn, you may appear reckless, but chances are that your actions will have been very well planned, and probably also rehearsed. Capricorn is always calculating what will happen if you do something. You Capricorns are energetically conservative, only expending enough to get you to where you want to be. No silly impulsive actions for you. This is your best insurance to get to the top of the mountain. The Capricorn motto might be Milton Berle’s ‘If opportunity doesn’t knock, then build a door.’But this doesn’t mean that if there are no mountains to climb that you must build the mountain. For you, hardships can be your path to fulfillment, but for the sake of happiness, it would be good for you to learn to appreciate what you have, instead of always striving to reach the next plateau.” (http://horoscopes.mydaily.com/)

For someone who follows the set horoscope for each zodiac sign, there is also a daily prediction. These daily predictions are based off of the initial horoscope, and tell a person some particular happenings that might occur on that day. For an example: for a capricorn, on the date of February 17, 2011, it advised, “A friend who’s having money problems might dump all their woes on you today, Capricorn. Your inclination isn’t to be very sympathetic, but hold back that tendency. The situation is real, and your friend is very worried and needs solutions more than criticism or sympathy. Your common sense and practical nature could be invaluable right now. Offer to listen.”

And everyday, there is a new prediction.

Here’s where the change to these signs comes in: the moon’s gravitational pull has slowly moved the Earth on its axis, causing the star’s alignments to speed up a speed up.  Now, many horoscope followers have become angry and are questioning the strength of their zodiac sign.  And here’s why: not only have some of the dates being changed into another zodiac sign, but there is also a new sign, “Ophiuchus,” for any babies born after 2009 with a birthday between November 29- December 17.

Although not everyone’s signs have changed, their is still confusion about whose sign really did change. So, to clear up the confusion, as of now these are the set zodiac signs for babies born after 2009:

Capricorn: January 20 to February 16

Aquarius: February 16 to March 11

Pisces: March 11 to April 18.

Aries: April 18 to May 13

Taurus: May 13 to June 21.

Gemini: June 21 to July 20

Cancer: July 20 to August 10

Leo: August 10 to September 16

Virgo: September 16 to October 30

Libra: October 30 to November 23

Scorpio: November 23 to November 29

Ophiuchus: November 29 to December 17

Sagittarius: December 17 to January 20

What many people do not understand is that this change does not apply to you if you were born anytime before 2009. For example, if the constellation Pisces was the zodiac that was present on the day you were born, that will be your sign forever. The new dates only apply with future births, but this new alignment of the constellations and rotation of the earth does not affect the one’s already born.


Picture from:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: