A Selection of Poems

______________________

by Jocelyn Delaney

______________________

Swimming

The end appears before my eyes
My hand reaches
One of many tries
But my body breaches
Through it in one small turn
And its proximity no longer remains.
I discern
The end once again and it strains
My body. Trapped in a maze
Everything repeats
And I plummet into malaise
Which beats
Away the ruse
I plunge further into alleviation
From the world, like a bird whose
In a freefall sensation.
Hypnosis empowers
All my movement
The end appears before my eyes
And my hand slams against it.

________________

The Situation

Here’s the situation:
He’s funny and of course I love his body.
My husband says
to go for it.
yea I’d date him
the ensuing naughtiness.
I plan
on giving him
my number.
I think he’s hilarious
I think he’s just really crazy and doesn’t care about what people think about him

I need a husband.
I love him so much.
I love his abs. He’s hilarious and Italian.
He doesn’t try to be anyone else
Which is a good thing because
America only has room for one “sitch”

________________

The Unknown Journey

Never knowing where or when
It’s the journey I love
the gusty winds against my spine
Give me tiny hints of where we’ll go.

It’s the journey I love.
The ups and downs and twist and turns
Give me tiny hints of where we’ll go.
Now I know unknowns I’d never known

The ups and downs and twist and turns
Like an eagles journey across the horizon,
Now I know unknowns I’d never known
The experiences are revealed.

Like an eagles journey across the horizon,
The enduring time slows down,
The experiences are revealed,
Fulfilled by the journey.

________________

Birthday Wish Come True

Four years of parties, easy classes.
His first birthday after graduating.

“Happy Birthday Brian! Make a wish”
“I wish I never have to work a day in my life.”
Eyes shut. Blew out the candles.

“Happy Birthday Brian! Blow out your candles.”
Eyes opened. There were nurses and a window that read “Denver Retirement Center.”

________________

For Rent

“Did you find everything okay today?”
“Yes, this will be perfect for this weekend”
“I agree, it’s a popular choice. Your total is $249.99.”
“I always wanted to be a singer. It’ll be nice to see what it’s like for a day.”
“Enjoy your time as Beyonce. Come back to Rent-A-Body soon.”

____________________________

Leave a Reply

